Five years later…


Let me just say I personally get such a kick out of this “on this day in history” capability that Facebook developed. Ever since I was little I’ve always had an immense love for writing, reading, and anything that had to do with words really. I have probably a million and one journals lying around my house filled with past anxieties, reflections, and poems, but they’re a little hard to follow chronologically.  I think this is cool because it gives you a chance to reflect on your own personal history and what you were doing in the past…or at least whatever you told Facebook you were doing. 

So today, August 29, five years ago was my first full day of college. That’s so mind blowing to me because it feels like just yesterday. Being 17 years old, moving from CA to TN, and saying goodbye to a lot of what was familiar to me. I remember getting lost even though my college didn’t have a “huge” campus. I remember huddling like penguins with my girl group of four because we weren’t sure what everyone else would think or say about us. I remember the first time I got locked out of my dorm room, I remember losing my ID card and feeling like the world was ending. My first crush, my first heartbreak, the first day I figured out what I wanted my future to look like. Those five years were some of the most adventure-filled, awkward, painful, difficult, hilarious years of my life but I learned so much about myself.

So where am I now? Five years later I have a degree and a whole lot of lessons learned. I feel like I’m back at an intersection in the road just trying to figure out which turn to take. It’s been difficult navigating the job market and being drop kicked into the real world, but I have to keep reminding myself to be patient. It took almost two or three years in college before I truly figured out my calling in life. So I guess what I learned is plans are great, but life kind of has its own plan so you can’t be too fixated. Be willing to adjust, but also know what you will and will not compromise for. I’ve also learned that your circle matters. There are more than a few people who have changed my course in life and without them things would be very different. My friends are like the bandaid that covers a wound until it’s all better and I thank God for them daily.

The biggest thing I think I’ve learned in the last five years is the importance of your mindset or your beliefs. You decide how you respond to your circumstances. You teach people how to treat you, even how to love you. I’ll touch on love in the next post because I’m thinking that’s my new theme for this blog. 

Currently I’m looking for a job and trying to decide if I should settle for a minimum wage job because bills need to be paid, or if I should wait for something I truly love to come along.  Working while trying to get a second degree poses some interesting options. It wasn’t easy and I’ve often felt like that person on freeze watching everyone else just on the go. I’ve just learned to trust myself and to look back at where I’ve come from to find that confidence.  

Point being, if you’re like me and you have a ton of huge decisions to make in the near future, or even if it’s just smaller daily decisions, take your past into account. Reflect on where you’ve been- what went right and what went wrong. Your future lies in your hands. What are you doing with that power today? What are some of the decisions you have been struggling with? Feel free to sound of in the comments! Thanks for reading! 

-Jo❤️

4 thoughts on “Five years later…

  1. Ah! College life. :p I can say I understand those big decisions and the small decisions and they never end. One gets an answer and another pops up, but you’re right: look to your past. See what decisions you’ve made before, how you made them, why you made them, and what impact they had on your life. That is one of the best ways to determine what to do with current decisions. Also, focus on what’s important in the now and in the future. Sometimes struggling through the ‘now’ will help you in the future. It worked for me at least and while it was difficult at the time, I don’t regret any of it. It challenged me and defined who I am, which I did not understand coming out of undergrad. :/ (Not that I have a perfect understanding now. Hee hee! But it’s still a WIP and I’m better off than I was 6 years ago.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment. It’s definitely encouraging to know there are people who made it through!! There are days when everyone has questions and it’s overwhelming because I don’t have all the answers but I’m taking it one day at a time! Undergrad was its own hurdle but after that I feel like I can conquer whatever else comes. Hopefully lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • To be honest, I don’t think anyone has the answers because the answers are different for everyone, you know? That’s why even your advisers will push you to make the decision yourself because it won’t impact their lives. It’ll impact yours. Which makes it that much more daunting, but all you can do is make the decision and face whatever the world throws at you from there. If you want it and you try hard, it will happen. That’s what I’ve seen, at least, and I’m sure it’s the same for you! Best wishes in the coming decisions! I know you’ll do what’s best for you! ^.^ (and always remember, if you’re not happy with where you are in life, you are the only one who can change that. So make it happen! 😀 )

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

