Learning to love yourself 

There’s a song by Kirk Franklin entitled “I Like Me”, and when I first listened to it I couldn’t help but roll my eyes. It seemed a little narcissistic and slightly random, but the beat had me nodding my head & clicking repeat.  We live in a society where if people perceive your self love the wrong way, or the right way, you may be accused of being conceited.  Being a 20 something in the world today though I think it’s actually very important to learn to love yourself. 

It’s been something that I have struggled with for many years and i can really only give advice from my perspective.  I’m a very reflective person and the phrase “treat others how you would like to be treated” has always resonated and been my motivation. I’m that person who loves random acts of kindness and just going out of my way to let people know that they are loved. But I’ve found that because I’m so adamant about showing others love, the points in my life where I’ve been the most disappointed have been times when I did not feel that love reciprocated back to me. I’m learning that loving others is a beautiful thing, but one must start with themselves. 

It’s okay to love on you a little bit too. I’m learning that before I can extend a hand, I have to be in a place where I am content with myself. I’ve been reading this book on self love and doing many exercises from it but one of them is to keep a journal where each week you note what things you’ve done for yourself.  It’s helped me become more intentional and very aware of my body, my mind, and my self talk. I feel a whole lot better.

So my advice to you as this new week begins is the same. When you think of loving others and helping others, begin with you. Speak words of kindness to others, but also to yourself. Take care of your body and your mind and don’t be afraid to treat yoself! I don’t think I’ve reached the point of narcissism and only thinking of myself, but I value myself a whole lot more when I’m taking steps to make myself happy and do the things I love. 

Feel free to bounce back your thoughts in the comments below- How do you practice self love? What is something you have always wanted to do that you know will add to your happiness?  What’s stopping you? 

I appreciate you all reading and I love you guys! I hope you show yourself some love this week.

-Jo❤️

2 thoughts on “Learning to love yourself 

Leave a Reply

