Love & Gratitude Day 3 (Thanksgiving Week) 

Mark Twain said, “Part of the secret of a success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out on the inside.” 

George Bernard Shaw said, “There is no sincerer love than the love of food.”

Today, on the Eve of the thanksgiving holiday, what I am most thankful for is food. Gosh I love food. I didn’t always used to love food. I think it gradually happened as a result of you know, starving in college 😂😂😂 that and an increased love for traveling.  As I grew older and I got to travel to many different places and meet people of different walks of life I noticed many differences. Food was always a constant, however and I love that. Great food makes everything that much better. 




I’m thankful for the opportunity to eat food and to have such a variety of it to choose from. I’m thankful that food cuts across so many cultures but most of it is still so accessible to me.  Living. In Southern California, I can have Asian food, African food, Jamaican food, Indian food-whatever I please. Just tonight my sisters and I argued about where to go and eat for maybe an hour because we all wanted a different type of food. The flip side of that is realizing that not everyone has those options. I’m not saying feel guilty as you stuff your faces tomorrow, by all means, eat and be merry. I’ve never been one to believe in moderation when it comes to my stomach haha But in all that, BE THANKFUL. As you eat, don’t be wasteful.  Appreciate what you have in your plate no matter what is in the plates of that person on snapchat or on Facebook. Cherish the conversation had around the table over the food. And I would suggest this holiday season, at some point before the year is out that you visit your local homeless shelter and volunteer. Talk to the people there, hear them out. Eat and fellowship with them. At church, reach out to those who for whatever reason have no one to share a meal with this weekend. 

Mother Teresa said, “if you can’t feed a hundred people, feed just one.” I leave you with those thoughts and remind you to continue to be thankful. 

The foods I’m probably most excited for tomorrow are pumpkin pie and baked mac and cheese. 

What are YOUR favorite thanksgiving foods? 

-Jo❤️

Leave a Reply

