My Guest Blogger  for Part 6 of this series about different types of love is kinda difficult to sum up into a nice four sentence intro to be honest. Eclectic, diverse, humorous- He’s many things to many people and I think he did a wonderful job in this piece of dispelling the idea that we can only love one thing or one person. He’s also one of the only men  I approached who was brave and willing enough to talk about love so I’m extra grateful! So here are his own personal thoughts about the different types of love in his life. 

Guest Blogger: Jonathan, 23,  from Chicago, Illinois USA 



Is It Really Love? 

​“Jonathan, what are some things you LOVE to do?”

​I always find this to be a very loaded question every time someone asks me this, but I’ll do my best to answer it. Well, for starters, I love to doing anything related to music: singing, playing piano or ukulele, listening, or composing. If you got to know me, you’d know that I’m a music major, so I get to do a lot of this stuff on the daily which really excites me.

Even though I’m a 100% introvert (INFP), I love to invest in people. I love when people, whether they know who I am or not, come up to me and just spill out the contents their hearts on me (not literally, of course). I love seeing people feel better after ranting to me because when others are happy, then so am I.

I also love traveling. I love going to new places and learning about the culture,m and the people there.  I also think it’s fun to try and pick up bits and pieces of the local language if I’m in a different country, and to try  different flavors in foods that I’ve never had before.

These are all relatively generic things to love to do, so I may not seem any different from other people you may know. But I also love to do something else that many other people probably wouldn’t want to admit to. Want to hear it? I don’t know if I’m really even ready to say it… OK, here it goes:

I love to not listen to God.

“WHOA. What, Jonathan? How can this be? How can you use love in that context?!” one might be thinking.

Well, it’s quite simple, actually: I am a sinful human being. I love how sin makes me feel in the moment. I have different things in my life that tend to take up my time that God probably wouldn’t want me to do. There are many things I struggle with on a daily basis, whether the range is from speaking maliciously about someone to cheating on a homework assignment to being jealous of someone for their attractiveness, wealth and/or talent levels (especially with talents I don’t possess, i.e. drawing/painting & being able to play different instruments). 

2 Timothy 3:2-5 even speaks about me by saying, “For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. […]”

But I’ve realized over the short years of life that I’ve lived so far that loving God genuinely and wholly can remove your love for sin. 

 I mean, after all, “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. […]” (Matt. 6:24). We can overcome this unhealthy love by just seeking God’s plan for us! It even says so in 1 John 5:3-5: “For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments. And His commandments are not burdensome. For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?”

So from here on out from this Valentine’s season, give all of your love to the One who deserves it. Don’t waste your efforts on things that can’t reciprocate them back to you. God has loved YOU since the VERY beginning; won’t you choose to do the same?


It’s funny how the world kinda makes people feel like if you’re single in Valentine’s Day, you should sit at home and binge chocolate and sad songs because obviously you have no love in your life. Jonathan’s example clearly illustrates that that’s not true.  We simply have to open our eyes and choose to appreciate the love we have, whatever form it may be in.  

I’m hoping that’s the message this series is sending-that balloons and chocolate and flowers- those are only small parts of the complex, ever evolving concept that is love. 3 more days left! I’ve got guests writing about long distance relationships, the love of life, and overall views and feelings about love so STAY TUNED! Keep sharing, keep liking, keep loving:) 

(Sibling Love) Meesha/Pete (Pt1)

(Sibling Love) Steph/Nikki (Pt2)

(Motherly Love) Blessing/Mase (Pt3)

(Motherly Love-NonBio) Kait/the babies (Pt4)

(Love & God) Rebeca (Pt5)


2 thoughts on “Issues of the Heart Part 6 

Leave a Reply

